JOEL MEYEROWITZ

He is an award-winning “street photographer”, in the tradition of Henri Cartier-Bresson and Robert Frank, although he works exclusively in color. His first book, Cape Light, is considered a classic work of color photography and has sold more than 100,000 copies during its 30-year life. He uses the light-intensive medium of slides, angling for multiple stresses about to erupt or dissipate across the field. Nothing can be less casual than his juggling of peripheral and central activity. His scan delights in shade-canceled surfaces or faces, striations, abrupt profiles. The indifferent unfolding of the event destroys as much as it generates configured points of view.

http://holdupgallery.com/files/gimgs/129_joel-meyerowtiz-hold-up-gallery1.jpg
St Louis Arch, 1978
Vintage C-Print, 61x71 cm signed, titled, dated